Visual Dare – Bells in Rain

My first contribution to Angela Goff’s Visual Dare flash fiction challenge.

Bells

I’ll always remember the bells.

Small bells, tinkling in the morning breeze, just outside the door.

I remember the rainy morning you put them up, standing on your tiptoes in a white chemise.

It’s been a month now and the DA just called to tell me he’s going to seek the death penalty. I feel bad for him. He really believes it helps.

He hangs up and sets justice in motion.

I hang up and relive the whole bag of horrors.

Again.

The bells ring in the wind, marking another empty day of a life without you in it.

Posted on August 6, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. This is great, so moving. You will have to do more Visual Dares now 🙂

    Like

  2. WOW. I am so glad you participated, Jess – this is wonderful! Powerful, aching, moving. And in so few words. Lovely, lovely work.

    Like

  3. Jeff, such a good response to this visual dare and very moving.

    Like

  4. Rainy day, tiptoes and white chemise form the loveliest mental picture … such a beautiful piece!

    Like

Leave a comment