Friday Night Write Week 8 – The A Team

Saturday in the Park

Word on the street was her name was Holly.

Billy had seen her around, hanging out at the edge of the park, crashed out on a bench, always in the same short black skirt and a tank top.

He asked around but no one seemed to know where she came from.

“She’s just been around,” said one of his girls. “Doesn’t work for anyone, just hangs in the park, goes off with a guy sometimes, then back to her bench.”

He put her out of his mind for a while– she wasn’t one of his– but there was something about her. Something about her face, beneath the grime and despair of a life on the street.

Her hair was long and unruly. She wore no makeup, unusual among streetwalkers. The skirt and tank top had seen better days but she wore them well and those leather boots of hers were attention grabbers.

Billy didn’t think she was a doper but he was sure he could get her hooked. That how you keep ’em earning. Numb ’em up and send ’em out. He knew guys who’d pay a lot for a girl in black leather boots.

It was a Saturday night when Billy sat down next to Holly on her bench and started feeding her the lines.

“Dangerous place for a girl like you to go it alone.”

She looked at him out of the corners of her eyes, without turning her head.

“What makes you think I’m alone? I’m not.”

“Been watchin’ you. You could do a lot better with me.”

“I know who you are,” she said. “King Shit of the park. Heard a lot about you.”

He laughed. “Good things, I hope?”

She didn’t answer.

“I see,” he said. “I was hoping we might go somewhere and have a little party.”

“Party? What do you want, man? Speak plainly.”

He admired her spunk. He was going to enjoy breaking her. He fingered the crack pipe in his pocket and hit her with his million dollar smile.

“Let’s cut the shit. You’re out here without protection. I can give you that protection if you cut me in on what you earn. I got a lot of girls working for me.”

“I know,” she said. “You’re a real prince, I hear.”

He reached over and put his hand on her thigh. “Look. You’re gonna go with me and we’ll have a little fun and then you’ll be working for me. You don’t like that arrangement I’ll call a couple of my boys over here and we’ll drag you into that alley and it won’t be as much fun. For you. Read me?”

“If you insist,” she said, rising from the bench.

Her backup arrived seconds later.

Billy was thrown to the ground and handcuffed. He was still down there, staring at those black leather boots, when Holly read him his rights.

Posted on August 13, 2012, in Friday Night Write. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. The end was so unexpected, really good.

    Like

  2. Don’t mess with a girl when she’s on a mission ^_~

    Like

  1. Pingback: Friday Night Write: Week Eight Winners - Sweet Banana Ink

Leave a Reply

