Mid-Week Blues-Buster Week 2.2 WINNERS

And thus Week 2.2 of the Mid-Week Blues-Buster comes to a close.

After a very slow start, Judge Jenn Monty ended up with several entries to read. Here are her decisions…

Everyone did a great job with the song and you guys made it very difficult to choose just 3. I loved all the different uses of the phrase “what difference does it make” – great stuff all around.

But I did have to choose, so I found myself looking at different criteria than normal: unique references to the song itself and unexpected suspense and storytelling.

3rd place – Time Served by Ruth Long / @Bullinkink. This story had a different take on the song by removing any romantic reference and using familial relationships to demonstrate the phrase “I’d do anything you’d ask”; there was also a flip in the person who leaves. All a nice twist on the song and an added suspense.

2nd place – Daffodils by Miranda Kate / @PurpleQueenNL. This piece had some great Morrisey and Smiths references. It also had suspense from the first sentence. I found myself holding my breath as the MC opened the bathroom door. And the last sentence! “…memories rather than dreams…” brilliant phrase.

1st place – All Men Have Secrets by Jim Lockett. The references to the two different single covers, the reference to milk and The Collector, stealing, lies, the one who left – every little detail of the song was added to this story with amazing tie-ins. Everything related back to the story in unexpected ways and I truly enjoyed the reference to isolation created by the dystopian setting. And as much as I love The Smiths, I laughed at the last line – “I never really cared for The Smiths.” Excellent stuff.

Congrats to all of our Winners.

Jim – here’s the Winner’s Badge for your collection;

Image

Thanks to all of our writers & readers, and thanks to Judge Jenn Monty…

See you on Tuesday!!!

 

Posted on March 31, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Fantastic job everyone. Yay, Jim Lockett you winner! Brilliant Miranda Kate and way to go Ruth Long. Good stories all around. And well done Judge Jenn Monty for facing a difficult task with aplomb. Well done all of us. 🙂 I love this FF space.

    Like

  2. Thanks to Jenn Monty for the kind words, it goes to show we are not agood judge of our own work, as I felt all of the other stories were better than mine this week, I really struggled with this one. I don’t like competing with other writers as I feel all choices are valid. To quote Chevy Chase in Caddyshack, I don’t keep score, i compare myself with other writers by height. Thanks again, and keep writing.

    Like

Leave a comment