Snippet Sunday – Hard-Boiled/Noir WIP – November 29, 2015

Snippet Sunday is a Facebook group for writers I’ve been privileged enough to have been accepted into.

From the group guidelines; “Welcome to Snippet Sunday, where writers come together to share a few sentences of their current project–whether it’s a recently released novel, a WIP (work in progress), or an older manuscript that’s being revived. Intended to hook readers, gather feedback and build an author’s fan base, Snippet Sunday is the FB group that does all three.”

This week’s snippet picks up a little further along from where last week’s ended. Jake made it to his car and hit the road. Jed’s pals give chase. They break out the rifles and fire on Jake’s Olds. Jake decides to go off-road after they manage to shoot out his passenger-side window…

My passenger side window exploded inward. Glass flew by my face, nicking and cutting me on its way by. Blood trickled into my eyes.
The next shot took out a tire.

I pulled the wheel hard to the right

The Olds rumbled into the corn, mowing the stalks down as I went. I saw nothing but greenery smacking against the windshield and could only hope that there wasn’t something solid waiting for me up ahead.
Steering became an exercise in futility so I tried the brakes instead.  Nothing happened. I tried them again. The car bounced twice and almost flipped over before leveling out. I held onto the wheel and pretended I had something to do with choosing the direction.

I hit something low to the ground with a distressing thud, followed by a series of metallic bangs and clanks that had me envisioning a trail of auto parts left in my wake.
There was another thud, and then I could steer again. I jerked the wheel hard to the left, aiming for a r0w with a little more room in it.

The suspension cursed my existence as I forced the car into the tight space, then slammed on the brakes.

 

Thanks for stopping by to read & thanks for any feedback you feel inclined to leave.

Please visit other Snippet Sunday writers too. Here’s a link to the Facebook group; https://www.facebook.com/groups/SnippetSunday/

 

 

Posted on November 29, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Karen Michelle Nutt

    Wow, what a ride that was. lol Great imagery!

    Like

  2. What and intense scene. I was grinding my teeth to the very end.

    Like

  3. Oh wow what a ride!

    Like

  4. He better get out of there fast, before the guy with the gun catches up. Exciting snippet!

    Like

  5. Oh, man, I was right there in the car with him! I like the way you didn’t overwrite the drama and just let the scene speak for itself. Great snippet!

    Like

  6. Again, so much intensity! And I love this line: “I held onto the wheel and pretended I had something to do with choosing the direction.” And the imagined trail of car parts.

    Like

  7. hum Jed’s true colors are finally showing up, or does he even know about this?

    Like

Leave a Reply

