#SnippetSunday – Hard-Boiled/Noir WIP – April 19, 2015

Snippet Sunday is a Facebook group for writers I’ve been privileged enough to have been accepted into.

From the group guidelines; “Welcome to Snippet Sunday, where writers come together to share a few sentences of their current project–whether it’s a recently released novel, a WIP (work in progress), or an older manuscript that’s being revived. Intended to hook readers, gather feedback and build an author’s fan base, Snippet Sunday is the FB group that does all three.”

This week’s snippet picks up where last week’s left off, with Jake and the mystery big man locked in hand-to-hand combat. Punches have been exchanged and the fight is about to hit the pavement…

He landed first, thank God. His upper back took the brunt of the fall. I followed, using my elbows to make sure his upper front didn’t feel left out. His eyes bugged out as the air rushed out of his lungs.

I reared up and started throwing punches.

He thrashed beneath me, struggling to get his hands up to protect his face and kicking his tree-trunk legs in the air.

I kept on swinging, hitting the target more times than I caught the curb.

The sudden growl of the pick-up truck’s engine commandeered my attention.

The crowd yelped and scattered as Marisa reversed at high speed, then shifted into drive.

I grabbed the big guy by the front of his shirt, and yanked him out of the way as she tore down Main Street in a spray of dust and hot road grit.

When the tail lights were out of sight I let go of the big man, looking him over as my rage receded into confusion.

He had a bad cut over his left eye and a bloody nose. I hoped they hurt at least as much as the knuckles of my right hand did.

As always, thanks for stopping by, and thanks for any feedback you feel inclined to leave.

Posted on April 19, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. What a great last line 🙂 Great snippet, Jeff.

    Like

  2. What is she up to? Always good stuff!

    Like

  3. Marisa is a puzzle . . . wonder if she’s worth solving?

    I want to know if these two fighters (great scene!) are going to bond over their mutual confusion or just issue wheezing threats. 🙂

    Either way, terrific scene, Jeff!

    Like

  4. Well, I didn’t see that coming! This is going to be an interesting conversation…

    Like

  5. Wow what and intense scene. I don’t even know how to feel after this one. lol. Great job.

    Like

  6. Karen Michelle Nutt

    Great fight scene, and I love that last line. 🙂

    Like

  7. Well, okay then. She sounds like a winner. I feel sorry for both guys. Great action, Jeff. 🙂

    Like

  8. Wow, this snippet definitely packed a punch (yes, pun intended). Lots of action and very engrossing. Great snippet.

    Like

  9. Great fight scene. I can’t wait to find out what she is she doing/thinking/planning. 🙂

    Like

  10. You nailed that last line.

    Like

  11. Quite the turn of event. What a strange woman… I’m curious to see how the relationship between the two fighters will evolve.

    Like

Leave a Reply

