Mid-Week Blues-Buster Week 2.30 WINNERS

I hope everyone’s enjoying their holiday season…

We had exactly half the number of entries this week as we did last but Judge Karmin Dahl had four great stories to read.

Here’s Karmin…

I’d like to thank Jeff for allowing me to be a judge. It sent me into a small fit of giggles, really. Next, I’d just like to say that judging is based on personal opinion, and this is exactly that, my opinion.I’ll also admit that so I did not get any pre-formed ideas, I didn’t actually listen to the song until I read the stories. So, let’s get started.

First place: I’d like to give first place to Lisa Shambrook for “From Black Gold to White Diamond”. I really enjoyed this story and felt like it could easily translate into a novella (at the very least). Lisa managed a perfect mix of intrigue and a mysteriousness along with whetting the reader’s appetite for revenge and a feeling of betrayal in less than 600 words. I’d love to read a full version of Trent’s story and what prompted the heist.

Second place: Second goes to Bullish for “Denied”. What I enjoyed about this was the sudden thrust into the mind of a young psychopath. I’m a sucker for a well-written, totally understandable, yet completely out there phsycho and “Denied” delivered that quite well.

Third place: DrMagoo also made a successful crazy. Here, my enjoyment was found in the character’s complete belief that his murder-spree was justified, but also knew how important it was not to get caught. A rational crazy is so fun to read and easy to connect with, and this one was done well.

Honorable mention: Honorable mention goes to MySoulStears. Here was a great story about a man hell-bent on not becoming boring again. What I felt was the most outstanding bit of this particular story was that when reading it, it felt very real, very easy to identify with. I mean, who hasn’t felt rejected and instantly NEEDED to change? Very well done.

Mazel tov to all of our Winners.
Lisa – here’s another Winner’s Badge for you;
bbuster
Thanks to all of our writers & readers, and thanks to Judge Karmin Dahl.
See you all in a little bit for another thrilling episode of… The Mid-Week Blues-Buster!!
Posted on December 29, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

