#SnippetSunday – Hard-Boiled/Noir WIP – December 28, 2014

Snippet Sunday is a Facebook group for writers I’ve been privileged enough to have been accepted into.

From the group guidelines; “Welcome to Snippet Sunday, where writers come together to share a few sentences of their current project–whether it’s a recently released novel, a WIP (work in progress), or an older manuscript that’s being revived. Intended to hook readers, gather feedback and build an author’s fan base, Snippet Sunday is the FB group that does all three.”

This week’s snippet is an early slice of the WIP I posted from last week. Our hero, Jake, has just rolled into town…

It was well after sunset when I pulled into the parking lot of the Sunshade Motel.

The night hadn’t yet gone full dark. The sky was still a little bit red and a little bit blue. The moon was just getting started.

I climbed out of my Oldsmobile and leaned against the open door, looking out into the late summer half-light. A long but finite line of coastal nothingness lay to the south. The bright lights of the boardwalk glowed far out to the north, where weary vendors worked to wring those last few dollars of the season out of end of September vacationers.

From the edge of the parking lot, two lanes of asphalt and about a hundred yards of beach– bisected by a line of sand dunes– separated me from the ocean. I took a minute to enjoy the sound of the waves as they crashed in. A gentle breeze carried fresh, briny air all the way up to the Sunshade.

As always, thanks for stopping by to check out my work…

Posted on December 28, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. I love Meier’s voice, Jeff. The descriptions are all-encompassing—I can feel the warm salt air (though that may also be desperate wishful thinking on my part). 🙂

    Like

  2. Man, I was there, the picture clear in my head. Nicely done, Jeff. 🙂

    Like

  3. beautiful descriptions!

    Like

  4. Very detailed description — it really pulled me in. (I’m not even an ocean person and I wanted to make a reservation!)

    Like

  5. Karen Michelle Nutt

    Wonderful imagery!! Enjoyed the snippet.

    Hope you have a Happy New Year!!

    Like

  6. Jeff, I’m a beach lover and I have to tell you I could smell the salt in the air from that description. Awesome snippet. Happy New Year!

    Like

  7. Wonderful imagery. I felt almost as if I was there.

    Like

  8. Great description … well done!

    Like

  9. Wonderful description. I could almost smell the sea air.

    Like

  10. Nice description, this reads like a relaxing place to be at.

    Like

  11. Beautiful description. I can clearly picture this nice and relaxing place/moment. And his pause to listen to the waves tells me we’re either just out of a storm or soon to walk into one…

    Like

Leave a Reply

