#SnippetSunday – As Yet Unnamed WIP (Vigilante/Noir) – November 9, 2014

Snippet Sunday is a Facebook group for writers I’ve been privileged enough to have been accepted into.

From the group guidelines;

“Welcome to Snippet Sunday, where writers come together to share a few sentences of their current project–whether it’s a recently released novel, a WIP (work in progress), or an older manuscript that’s being revived. Intended to hook readers, gather feedback and build an author’s fan base, Snippet Sunday is the FB group that does all three.”

We’re moving ahead in the story with today’s snippet. It’s a look in that reveals a few things about the relationship between Meyer and Satsuke.
The snippet takes place immediately after the workout session depicted in part in my past two snippets.
The workout is over and Meyer is in the locker room getting cleaned up when we pick up the action;

I heard the shower door slide open. Cooler air from the locker room got in and started fogging the place up.
I sensed Satsuke’s eyes on me as I rinsed the soap from my body. The steady flow of water simultaneously battered and soothed all of the places she’d bruised during the morning workout of suffering she’d put me through.
I felt good despite the soreness. Working with Satsuke had made me leaner and more defined than I’d ever been. A scuplted Adonis I was not, but I was well on my way to making barrel-chested look good.
I winced as the powerful shower spray hit a particularly deep bruise.
“Admiring your handiwork?” I croaked.
“It is still rough around the edges,” she replied, “but not un-promising.”
“Thank you?”
I ducked my head back into the stream, smiling when I felt Satsuke’s hands massaging my shoulders.
“Relax,” she whispered. Her voice blended with the rush of water.

Thanks for stopping by! Be sure to read & comment on other Snippet Sunday writers!

Posted on November 9, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. A scuplted Adonis I was not, but I was well on my way to making barrel-chested look good.

    I love this line, Jeff. 🙂

    And a very nice subtle segue into shower shenanigans, too. 😉

    Like

  2. G+’d, Tweeted, Shared on FB.
    I hope you get lots of hits.

    Like

    • Thanks for your efforts. They’re much appreciated. Not holding my breath on hits, though. I’m getting used to it. The low number of people who come to read my snippets just makes me appreciate the few who do that much more.

      Like

  3. Wow, Jeff, nicely done with the sensual and fun. Like Sarah, I really liked the line about making barrel-chested look good. 😀

    Like

  4. She sure is a tough one and he sure seems to like that a lot. I like it!

    Like

  5. Oh…sultry and fun.Adonis or not, I like him a lot already. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

