#SnippetSunday – As Yet Unnamed WIP (Vigilante/Noir) – Sunday November 2

Snippet Sunday is a Facebook group for writers I’ve been privileged enough to have been accepted into.

From the group guidelines;

“Welcome to Snippet Sunday, where writers come together to share a few sentences of their current project–whether it’s a recently released novel, a WIP (work in progress), or an older manuscript that’s being revived. Intended to hook readers, gather feedback and build an author’s fan base, Snippet Sunday is the FB group that does all three.”

This week’s snippet picks up right where last week’s left off.
Meyer has just explained how he knocked out the Phone Booth with a palm-heel strike to the side of the jaw.
Satsuke speaks first.

“He fell,” she said.
“Like the proverbial sack of shit.”
“Then you turned your attention to the second attacker.”
I hesitated.
She fed me a cold stare and waited for my confession.
“I didn’t see the second attacker.”
I let my hand fall to my side. She edged closer to me.
“I was looking down at the guy I just took out.”
The stare got even colder, almost as cold as her silence.
“Had to make sure he wasn’t getting up,” I murmured.
“You did not have confidence in your strike?”
There were two possible answers to that question, both of them wrong.
I broke and looked away. She never blinked.

Thanks for reading!

Posted on November 2, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Uh oh! Haha I love the interactions between these two!

    Like

  2. Tough lady! I’m not good at fight scenes—on page or in Real Life—so her analysis is fascinating to me.

    Excellent, Jeff! 🙂

    Like

  3. “Liked” on WP, Twitted, FB, and G+. Are you on Google Plus?

    Like

  4. That’s one tough lady. Love it!

    Like

  5. Great snippet … liked the dialogue and the tension!

    Like

Leave a Reply

