#SnippetSunday – As Yet Unnamed WIP (Vigilante/Noir) – October 19, 2014

Snippet Sunday is a Facebook group for writers I’ve been privileged enough to have been accepted into.

From the group guidelines;

“Welcome to Snippet Sunday, where writers come together to share a few sentences of their current project–whether it’s a recently released novel, a WIP (work in progress), or an older manuscript that’s being revived. Intended to hook readers, gather feedback and build an author’s fan base, Snippet Sunday is the FB group that does all three.”

This week’s snippet moves us ahead in the story some. We get to meet Satsuke, the woman responsible for Meyer’s martial arts training.
The action picks up the day after Meyer’s run-in the Phone Booth and Rebar Guy.
This is rough, even by rough draft standards, but here goes nothing…


The gentle, yet inelegant brush of Satsuke’s bare feet on the hardwood floor of her studio stirred me from meditation.
She walked slowly along the far wall, straightening the pads and gloves and headgear on their pegs, pivoted to the middle of the room to linger, catlike, in the sunlight admitted through the three large windows on the outside wall, before coming to me.
I awaited her approach with my eyes closed, following her movements from memory. I pictured her, long hair up in a tight bun, dressed in the old Joan Jett t-shirt and men’s gym shorts she always wore to the studio.
She stopped in front of me, waiting.
I breathed in the familiar scent of her morning workout– equal parts jasmine sweat and pain– then opened my eyes.
“You ran into something last night,” she said, searching my face with her deep green eyes.
“Two somethings, actually.”
She stared me down for another few seconds, then assumed a fighting stance.
“Show me.”

Thanks for stopping by to check it out!

Posted on October 19, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. “Show me.” Yeah. I like that.

    Like

  2. Karen Michelle Nutt

    Love the introduction to the new character with sight, sound and scent. Wonderfully done!

    Like

  3. Loved the descriptions in this snippet. It really painted a scene for me.

    Like

  4. Interesting reaction to his news. Great snippet, Jeff. 🙂

    Like

  5. “…equal parts jasmine sweat and pain.” Excellent description, Jeff!

    Like

  6. well done on the descriptions. really liked it.

    Like

  7. Love it. Love her already. Can’t wait for next week!

    Like

  8. She seems so strong. I like who she doesn’t cut the corners and get straight at it. Great last line.

    Like

Leave a Reply

