#SnippetSunday – As Yet Unnamed WIP (Vigilante/Noir) – September 28, 2014

Snippet Sunday is a Facebook group for writers I’ve been privileged enough to have been accepted into.

From the group guidelines;

“Welcome to Snippet Sunday, where writers come together to share a few sentences of their current project–whether it’s a recently released novel, a WIP (work in progress), or an older manuscript that’s being revived. Intended to hook readers, gather feedback and build an author’s fan base, Snippet Sunday is the FB group that does all three.”

Last week’s snippet set the stage for a confrontation. This week, we skip ahead to the start of the fight between Meyer and the Phone Booth…

The Phone Booth led with a left jab, like most right-handed fighters with experience do, smirking as he shifted his weight to load up for the big right.
I slipped the jab, then darted in toward him and to my right as he threw his best punch.
His fist sailed past my head.
His smirk died with the realization that he’d relied once too often on the paralyzing effects of his size and general aura of mayhem.
I answered with a right palm-heel strike to the sweet spot between the point of his chin and the corner of his jawbone.
His head snapped back, spittle flying out of his mouth, and his legs buckled.
I stepped out of the way as he hit the pavement with a thud they probably heard in Brooklyn.
I didn’t hear it. A deep silence drowned out everything but the slow, steady beat of my own heart as I stood over the fallen Phone Booth, reliving what had just happened.
The punch, the move in close, the counterstrike, and the fall all took longer to play out in my mind than they had in real time.

Thanks for reading…

Posted on September 28, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Pride went right before his fall, didn’t it? 🙂

    I like a fight scene that’s short and to the point, and you’ve mapped out this one so it’s easy to follow, without slowing it down.

    Plus, this shows that Meyer knows his stuff so well, it’s instinctive by now— not that I doubted him for a second. 🙂

    Like

  2. I prefer short fight scenes. This one is not a word too long — one more, would have been. Now, let’s get on with the story.
    Well done!

    Like

  3. This rings true. Plotting a plan (good or bad), always takes longer in our mind. Nice to the point fight scene.

    Like

  4. I love his reflection at the end, sort of a replay like in The Last Samurai. Great snippet, Jeff. 🙂

    Like

  5. Great snippet. Very descriptive I love it. Really set the scene.

    Like

  6. Well, that was fast enough the first time. Nice clean fight!

    Like

  7. Great snippet. I hate writing fight scenes so I’m taking notes.

    Like

  8. Great fight scene! I admire those who can do it so concise.
    History Sleuth – Milk Carton Murders

    Like

  9. Nice fight scene, and I love the phone booth for a big thug’s name.

    Like

  10. Great fight scene–loved the “thud they probably heard in Brooklyn” line.

    Like

  11. Great snippet! Can’t wait for more!

    Like

  12. My only problem was that with the mix of genres here, the guy might be a literal phone booth. Certainly that was how I started out–guy trapped in a phone booth and fighting his way out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

