#SnippetSunday – As Yet Unnamed WIP (Vigilante/Noir) – August 17, 2014

Snippet Sunday is a Facebook group for writers I’ve been privileged enough to have been accepted into.

From the group guidelines;

“Welcome to Snippet Sunday, where writers come together to share a few sentences of their current project–whether it’s a recently released novel, a WIP (work in progress), or an older manuscript that’s being revived. Intended to hook readers, gather feedback and build an author’s fan base, Snippet Sunday is the FB group that does all three.”

This week’s snippet picks up where last week’s left off… We’re at the Moonstruck Diner with Meyer and Danny. The conversation is about to get a little heavy…

It’s longer than 8-10 sentences. I know. No need to riot over it. Now, put away the pitchforks & Frankenstein rakes and have a read.

I ate some of my burger while Annie poured the coffee, then picked up Danny’s dirty plate.

He looked at my cheeseburger with the same revulsion I’d directed toward his chicken livers.

“You managed that feat well before you began working with Satsuke,” he continued.

Satsuke.

The muscles in my abdomen shuddered at the mention of my personal trainer. And his adopted daughter.

Satsuke combined natural athleticism with a sharp tactical mind to develop her own fighting style, blending the brutal pragmatism of krav maga with the fluidity of jujitsu.

She’d been working me over three times a week since Danny brought me over to his place on the night of the Cindy incident.

“She tells me that you’re ready,” he said.

I looked away, contemplating the grease on my half-empty plate.

He waited me out.

“Means a lot coming from her,” I relented, “but my answer hasn’t changed.”

He set his cup on the counter and straightened up on his stool.

“You could do a lot of good. People need you, son. Our people, among others.”

I cursed under my breath.

“Another break-in in the neighborhood?”

He nodded.

“The usual Nazi shit spray painted around? Property destruction?”

“They put the caretaker at Beth Shalom in the hospital.”

I cursed some more.

Thanks for stopping by!

Posted on August 18, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Oh dear. Yeah, that’s not good. Great snippet, Jeff. 🙂

    Like

  2. It seems that he is going to need a lot to be convinced to help.

    Like

  3. Sounds like he might be getting closer to saying yes.

    Like

  4. Reluctant, but I sense a weakening on his stance.

    Like

  5. Great tension building, sounds like he might be ready after all he’s heard…
    Great snippet and thanks again for catching my Corona label mix-up! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

