#SnippetSunday – As Yet Unnamed WIP (Vigilante/Noir) – August 3, 2014

Snippet Sunday is a Facebook group for writers I’ve been privileged enough to have been accepted into.

From the group guidelines;

“Welcome to Snippet Sunday, where writers come together to share a few sentences of their current project–whether it’s a recently released novel, a WIP (work in progress), or an older manuscript that’s being revived. Intended to hook readers, gather feedback and build an author’s fan base, Snippet Sunday is the FB group that does all three.”

This week’s snippet picks up exactly where last week’s left off. We’ve just met Danny Bergleson– Holocaust survivor, veteran, ex-cop, and my MC’s mentor…

He had seven years of sobriety behind him by the time I started at the 13th Street meeting.
I had the obligatory three days.
“We want to hear from you, not from the booze,” is what they say.
Danny, a tall guy with big shoulders, a modest paunch, and one good arm, was the only person to look my way when I turned up, fifteen minutes late, that first night.
While I stood in the doorway, impressed with myself for just getting there, he shambled over and led me into the room. He explained the 13th Street lateness rule on our way in; if you show up late, you must speak that night.
I couldn’t help staring at the faded numbers tattooed on the inside of his left forearm as we walked. He caught me looking but chose not to say anything about it.
By the time I found myself at the front of the room, blurting out my sad story to a roomful of strangers, I knew Danny and I were going to be pals.
Before the end of the night we were more than pals because old Danny Bergleson had volunteered to be my sponsor.

Thanks for stopping by!

Posted on August 3, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. That sounds like a nice start. So many possibilities from here.

    Like

  2. Nice snippet. It makes me want to know more about both of them and about their relationship.

    Like

  3. Interesting is predictable scene.
    How did you come up with the number “13” for the street name?
    Did it have anything to do with the twelve-step program and 13 being what happens next?

    Like

    • Ooops. That first sentence should read: Interesting although predictable scene.

      Like

      • Thanks. As this won’t be the first mention of AA in the novel, I’m not too worried about predictiability. As for the 13th St thing… it’s just an accident of geography. I wanted to locate the meeting place in Chelsea. Interesting observation about it being tied to the 12 step thing.

        Like

  4. Good showing of how their connection began. Nice snippet, Jeff. 🙂

    Like

  5. Your MC has some dents in him all right—I like it!

    Like

  6. Karen Michelle Nutt

    You drew me right into the scene. Interesting characters, makes me want to know more about both of them.

    Like

  7. Your writing flows, your mc is gritty, damaged, and likable. Great introduction to the 12-step group and to us.

    Like

  8. These snippets have caught my imagination. I can’t wait to see where this goes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

