#SnippetSunday – As Yet Unnamed WIP (Vigilante/Noir) – July 27, 2014

Snippet Sunday is a Facebook group for writers I’ve been privileged enough to have been accepted into.

From the group guidelines;

“Welcome to Snippet Sunday, where writers come together to share a few sentences of their current project–whether it’s a recently released novel, a WIP (work in progress), or an older manuscript that’s being revived. Intended to hook readers, gather feedback and build an author’s fan base, Snippet Sunday is the FB group that does all three.”

We meet my MCs mentor in this week’s snippet…

Danny Bergleson, gnarled and knotty as he was, was the toughest guy I’d ever met.
Treblinka couldn’t kill him.
Tuberculosis couldn’t kill him.
The North Koreans couldn’t kill him.
Twelve years of walking a beat in the South Bronx cost him the use of his right arm, but it couldn’t kill him.
Two subsequent muggings, a hit and run incident, and one outright assault with a deadly weapon couldn’t kill him.
It took the bottle to bring him down. John Barleycorn gave him the fight of his life, and in the end, Danny Bergleson beat that bastard too.

Thanks for stopping by!

Posted on July 27, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. This immediately has my attention. Good snippet!

    Like

  2. Jeff. Tell me that this story is written and will be out soon. Or that you’ll accept a writer you don’t know from Eve as a beta. Please.

    Because this? This is perfect.

    Like

    • Thank you! Unfortunately, this WIP, like my writing career in general, is in its infancy. When the time comes, though, I’ll be happy to add you to the beta team.

      Like

  3. Karen Michelle Nutt

    An intriguing snippet. You drew me right in and left me wanting to know more. Well done.

    Like

  4. Like your direct style.
    Danny sounds like a guy I’d like to get to know.

    Like

  5. Sounds like one tough guy.

    Like

  6. Now that’s a tough guy! You made me see him in my mind.

    Like

  7. Wow, great snippet, Jeff. I really get a sense of the guy. I’d suggest taking out Danny’s last name in the last line (not needed) to make it flow better. 🙂

    Like

  8. I like all the “couldn’t kill him” that gives a nice rhythm to the snippet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

