#SnippetSunday – As Yet Unnamed WIP (Noir/Vigilante) – July 6, 2014

Snippet Sunday is a Facebook group for writers I’ve been privileged enough to have been accepted into.

From the group guidelines;

“Welcome to Snippet Sunday, where writers come together to share a few sentences of their current project–whether it’s a recently released novel, a WIP (work in progress), or an older manuscript that’s being revived. Intended to hook readers, gather feedback and build an author’s fan base, Snippet Sunday is the FB group that does all three.”

This week’s snippet sheds a little more light on that, “ex-dead guy”, thing alluded to in my snippet from last week.

Here goes nuthin’…

Twelve minutes.
That’s what the people at the hospital told me.
I croaked in the ambulance and stayed dead for twelve minutes. It was the cold that saved me, they said. The hypothermia. It slowed down cell death and prevented brain damage while I stumbled around in the dark, looking for the way back.
The emergency room doc who worked on me– a young Chinese woman with a grip like a vise– dropped by the next day. She told me more about the preservative qualities of hypothermia, about how sometimes doctors will even induce hypothermia to buy themselves more time for resuscitation efforts.
Getting shot in the winter had been a lucky thing, lucky being a relative term.
“Like we say in the ER,” she’d joked, “you’re not really dead ’til you’re warm and dead.”
Then we laughed like a couple of idiots. Laughing hurt like hell that day, but I did it anyway. It kept me from screaming.

Thanks for stopping by….

Posted on July 6, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. So that’s the ex-dead guy! Nicely done. And I had no idea about the hypothermia strategy.

    Like

  2. Is the hypothermia and his stumbling around a metaphor/preview of things to come?
    You’ve crafted an interesting scene with lots of potential in just a few lines.
    Like it.

    Like

    • Thanks, Chip… as to the metaphor/preview, to quote one of my favorite lines from one of my favorite Hemingway stories, “That’s one of those things you never know at
      the time.”

      Like

  3. I just heard that they’ve approved human tests on inducing temporary cryo for ER victims that would be dead otherwise, which is probably the next logical step… Loved this line: “Like we say in the ER,” she’d joked, “you’re not really dead ’til you’re warm and dead.”

    Like

  4. Whoa, Jeff. This is excellent, both in set-up and detail.

    The “grip like a vice” is subtle awesome—it gives us a whole flashback focused on her efforts to save him, in three words.

    Like

  5. I absolutely love this line: Laughing hurt like hell that day, but I did it anyway. It kept me from screaming.

    (I have days like that, but probably for different reasons. LOL)

    Like

  6. Karen Michelle Nutt

    I love the way you revealed how he became the ex-dead guy. Intriguing snippet!

    Like

  7. Wow, what a unique and powerful scene. Just wow!

    Like

  8. Fits right in with what I know of cold-water drownings.

    Like

  9. I think I would have had the same reaction – to keep from crying. Great snippet, Jeff. 🙂

    Like

  10. Since this article came out, I’ve had an opportunity to read about hypothermia. My favorite medical journal, “The Reader’s Digest Journal of Medicine.” They did a story with several case studies. One of the cases was the record setting patient. Yes, you hit on a great plot device with cutting edge medicine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

