#SnippetSunday – As Yet Unnamed WIP (Noir/Vigilante) June 29, 2014

Snippet Sunday is a Facebook group for writers I’ve been privileged enough to have been accepted into.

From the group guidelines;

“Welcome to Snippet Sunday, where writers come together to share a few sentences of their current project–whether it’s a recently released novel, a WIP (work in progress), or an older manuscript that’s being revived. Intended to hook readers, gather feedback and build an author’s fan base, Snippet Sunday is the FB group that does all three.”

My previous snippets have been from my serial noir novella. This one, however, comes from something else entirely. I’ve got a novel in progress. I don’t have a working title as of yet but it’s a vigilante story with noir trappings. Today’s snippet comes from an early scene between my MC and his new psychiatrist.

Here goes nothing… BTW, I’m cheating, posting more than 12 sentences. Life works that way, sometimes.

“I see you’ve kept up your exercise regimen,” she remarked.
“It keeps me sane, so to speak.”
She nodded, looking me full in the face. Her curiosity had not abated.
“Go ahead, Doc,” I said. “You can ask me.”
She flashed a self-deprecating smile, then looked away.
“Is it that obvious?”
“You want to know what I saw, don’t you? Where I went?”
“I’m sure you’re sick of hearing it,” she said. “I’m sorry.”
“Don’t be. It’s not every day you get to talk to an ex-dead guy.”
She placed her hand on my shoulder.
“Perhaps I will,” she said. “Ask you, that is. But not today.”
“Fair enough. See you next week.”
We shook hands, then I turned to leave. She walked me to the door.
“That question,” she said as I turned the knob. “When I do ask it, you’ll answer?”
I smiled at her.
“What do you think?”

Thanks for stopping by…

Posted on June 29, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Nice, Jeff. You have a real talent for creating individual characters with a couple lines of dialogue each.

    Plus. you know, “ex-dead guy”. Sold!

    Like

  2. Okay, you snagged me with “ex-dead guy.” And yeah, I want to know the story behind it. Great snippet, Jeff. Good luck with the novel.

    Like

  3. Love it! You pack so much info into these sentences. And it’s so on the mark, too. I had a friend who was dead for a full ten minutes or so and yes, I was sooooo very curious. It took a while for him to feel comfortable talking about it with me. I guess it’s a very intimate experience?

    Like

  4. Great snippet. I liked the ex-dead-guy line, too–I’m anxious to read more. Good luck!

    Like

  5. Add me to the fans of the “ex-dead guy”…

    Like

  6. Crisp dialogue packed with information. I’m as curious as the doctor now. Where did he go and what did he see when he died and came back. .

    Like

  7. Karen Michelle Nutt

    Enjoyed the snippet and you have me curious. Gotta know what the ex-dead guy saw, heard, felt… How could someone not be curious? Well done.

    Like

  8. Wow if he talked to an ex-dead guy, he might need the psy… but did he really talk to one and is she going to believe him if he did?

    Like

Leave a Reply

