#SnippetSunday – Night Train (noir) – June 15, 2014

Snippet Sunday is a Facebook group for writers I’ve been privileged enough to have been accepted into.

From the group guidelines;

“Welcome to Snippet Sunday, where writers come together to share a few sentences of their current project–whether it’s a recently released novel, a WIP (work in progress), or an older manuscript that’s being revived. Intended to hook readers, gather feedback and build an author’s fan base, Snippet Sunday is the FB group that does all three.”

Today’s Snippet comes from the latest chapter of my serial noir novella, “Night Train”, set in 1928.

You can read the whole chapter here; http://picspiration.blogspot.com/2014/06/jeff-tsuruoka-week-103-night-train-part.html

Things have moved along a little since the events of last week’s snippet. Madeline has decided that it’s time to un-ass the AO. Some kind of cunning escape plan of her devising has been alluded to… Is it time to put it into play? Here’s the snippet…

“Time to go,” said Madeline. She put her arm around me and tried to guide me to the door.
“This is your escape plan?” I asked.
“No. My escape plan involved negotiation and much less facial damage. You kinda put a bullet in that one, honey.”
“That leaves my plan.”
“You have a plan?”
“I always have a plan!”
She gave me the stink-eye.
“I usually have a plan,” I mumbled.
“That’s what I thought,” she growled. She grabbed a hold of my hand. “Let’s go.”

Thanks for stopping by…

Posted on June 15, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. Good to see that at least someone has a plan.

    Like

  2. I want to know what the plan is.

    Like

  3. Hmmm. Winging it alone works but with someone else depending on her, Madeline might have some problems. Great 8.

    Like

  4. Loyal fan of dialog here — and that’s good stuff.

    Like

  5. Love the line about the “stink eye”, Jeff. Great dialog and great snippet.

    Like

  6. “My escape plan involved negotiation and much less facial damage. You kinda put a bullet in that one, honey.”

    I like Madeline. She’s clearly the brains of this outfit. 😀

    Like

  7. Plans are overrated 🙂 …..good snippet

    Like

  8. Karen Michelle Nutt

    The ‘stink-eye’… love it! Great banter. Enjoyed the snippet.

    Like

  9. Plans never work past the first few minutes, anyway.

    Like

  10. I love the interplay between the two of them! They are going to be fun characters to read and get to know.

    Like

  11. historysleuth1

    Great snippet. A little humor in a desperate situation, love the interaction.

    Like

Leave a Reply

