#SnippetSunday – Night Train (Noir)

Snippet Sunday is a Facebook group for writers I’ve been privileged enough to have been accepted into.

From the group guidelines;

“Welcome to Snippet Sunday, where writers come together to share a few sentences of their current project–whether it’s a recently released novel, a WIP (work in progress), or an older manuscript that’s being revived. Intended to hook readers, gather feedback and build an author’s fan base, Snippet Sunday is the FB group that does all three.”

Today’s Snippet comes from the latest chapter of my serial noir novella, “Night Train”, set in 1928.

Our heroes, New York mobster Moe Shabansky and Madeline Dupree, have been captured by some local law enforcement types. Moe is undergoing some… gentle interrogation…

Blood ran from my nose and mouth. Two teeth felt loose. It wasn’t bravery that had kept me quiet. It was numbness.
The sheriff stuck his face in close to mine.
“I know you’re someone,” he wheezed, “someone folks in New York might want to find. Got a couple of heavy hitters on their way down to take a look at you.” He cuffed me on the chin. “Got anything to say to me now?”
A crooked, triumphant grin spread over his mug. I nodded and coughed.
“If you touch me again you’d better kill me.”

Thanks for stopping by…

JT

 

Posted on June 1, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I like historical novels. I like how this is the “gently” interrogation 🙂

    Like

  2. Last line was the best. Great scene.
    Reminds me of the interrogation scene in “True Romance.”
    Well done!

    Like

  3. Ah, police brutality as its most charming. 🙂

    I like the last line, too, but I’m not sure tempting the sheriff is a wise thing to do. Then again, this is noir . . .

    Like

  4. I LOVE the last line, and I can see the cocky sheriff scoffing at him. Eep. Great snippet, Jeff.

    Like

  5. Good answer which may or may not get him killed. 🙂

    Like

  6. Welcome to Snippet Sunday!
    I love the not-so-veiled threat in that last line…

    Like

  7. Karen Michelle Nutt

    Wonderful imagery. I could see the scene perfectly and just loved the last line. 🙂

    Like

  1. Pingback: #SnippetSunday June 8, 2014 – Night Train (Noir) | The Tsuruoka Files

Leave a Reply

