Mid-Week Blues-Buster Week 46 WINNERS

Week 46 of the Mid-Week Blues-Buster is in the books…

We rebounded nicely from a low-turnout week in Week 45. Judge Lisa Shambrook had lots to consider…

So speaketh Judge Lisa;

When I heard the song for this week’s Blues Buster, a ripple of regret ran through me, I’d love to have written to this song! It spoke in epic terms to me and promised some great stories! I copied all the stories away from the net to judge, so I had no idea of who authored what…you didn’t let me down! Each story hooked and delighted me!

I fought hard between two pieces for third place…so I should mention how much I loved DrMagoo’s poetic and lonely journey into the next life, but I awarded third to Miranda Kate with her untitled piece. The story intrigued me, and I read on needing to know the outcome. I was aware of tension right away, and like Paul, unaware of the actual reasons… I’m not a huge horror fan, but I was teased all the way through and it was this sentence which caused my mouth to drop in realisation… “Yes, I marinated her well…” brilliant! Vengeance served.

Beautiful and chilling at the same time, second place goes to Fiery Gift by The Rogue Tinker. The words curled around my mind creating potent imagery and all the detail is there, stark and heartbreaking…what wouldn’t a parent do for his dying child? The farmer threw me and I wanted to forget he was even there…but he was. His presence remained and his chilling final words sent an icy chill down my spine. A story that remained burned into my mind.

In first place an evocative tale that left me craving more…Northern Time by Brewed Bohemian. This story whisked me straight to the dusty, orange desert as the sun set…and I didn’t look back. The imagery was gorgeous and I heard the creak of leather and the scent of sandalwood in the apothecary’s shop. I want to know Vlad’s backstory and his future and so much more! The subtlety of detail drew me into a story that replayed in my mind far beyond the first read. The imagery danced like a movie and visited all my senses. What more can I say? I’m a sucker for a lost man searching for his love…out in the barren desert. Beautiful!

Congratulations to all of our winners…

Jenn- here’s the Winner’s Badge;

Image

Thanks to all of our writers, readers, & to Judge Lisa Shambrook…

See you all on Tuesday!

Posted on February 3, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

