Mid-Week Blues-Buster Week 43 WINNERS

Week 43 of the Mid-Week Blues-Buster is in the books…

Judge Ruth Long had a tall task ahead of her as fourteen writers contributed stories this week. (Big thanks to Miranda for banging the Blues-Buster drum on Twitter!)

So speaketh Judge Ruth;

Wow! You guys blew me away with the variety of stories you came up with for this beautiful song. There was something to love and enjoy about every one of them. Narrowing it down to three was not easy! That said, after bolstering myself with a strong cup of coffee, I put on my thinking hat and got down to business.

3rd = Michelle Fox – I so enjoyed that these weren’t lovers in a traditional sense. Made the weight of their brief interaction powerful. Loved that closing line: “keeping her heartbeat and his as one.” For me, that summed up the essence of the song in seven words.

2nd = TorToe – This piece so captured the sense of confusion that comes with the loss of a child – the disbelief, the sense of being disconnected from everything and everyone, even those who love you most and who are in the thick of it with you. I could see this playing out in my reader’s eye as the song echoed in the background.

1st = Mark Ethridge – All along the way, this story seemed so well suited to the music and lyrics, and then in those final lines it shifted (pun intended) and WOW. “I’d always known my heart would be torn apart … I just never imagined she’d literally rip it out and eat it.” I love that imagery juxtaposed against the heartfelt and hopeful ballad.

Congratulations to all of our Winners & writers…

Mark, here’s the Winner’s Badge;

Image

Thanks to all of our writers, readers, & to Judge Ruth Long…

See you on Tuesday!

Posted on January 13, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

