Mid-Week Blues-Buster Week 36 WINNERS

Week 36 of the Mid-Week Blues-Buster is over…

Judge Jules Vilmur has spoken;

With all the howlin’ going on in this great Black Keys song, I should have expected the full-press of werewolves in this week’s Blues-Buster. I had a blast digging into the stories and a hard time picking favorites. That said, here they are:

Miranda Kate’s sly, sexy werewolves clawed their way to the top of the heap. It’s true that I’m partial to guys named Dean who drive cool cars, but beyond that, Miranda’s story felt truly inspired by the song. A fabulous 1st place.

In Mark Ethridge’s mournful dirge, I could hear the actual howls of the coyotes who cried me to sleep every night the year I turned 16. Phrases like “The stars and the moon. I knew they were alone.” and “I’d done good … I didn’t cry.” convey such sorrow that they belong right here at 2nd place.

Dr. Magoo of Project Gemini slid into 3rd at the last minute with a great take on the howl, a sultry slow build and an ending that made me actually laugh out loud.

Jeff – Thank you for the good time and the honor. When I get better at reigning in my word count, I promise, I’m going to join in the fun.

Congrats to all of our Winners…

Miranda– mazel tov on another win.  Here’s the Winner’s Badge;

Image

Thanks to all of our writers & readers… and thanks Judge Jules!

See you all on Tuesday…

Posted on October 26, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

