Mid-Week Blues-Buster Week 31 WINNERS

Week 31 here at the Mid-Week Blues-Buster is in the books…

Judge Alex Kimmel has spoken.

Take it away, Alex…

First of all, thank you Jeff for inviting me to participate as Judge and Chief Decider this week! I really enjoyed reading everyone’s different interpretations of the prompt. I moved from L.A. A little over three years ago and this definitely made me a bit homesick. But enough about me! (As if you could EVER get enough ME!) All of the stories were great. Each with their own unique twist on escaping the City of Broken Angels. I wish they could all be longer so I could dive deeper into the worlds thy created, but alas…this was a Flash Fiction challenge! Personally, I give them all a badge for having balls large enough to place themselves on the chopping block. But I must choose three that rise to the top of the list. So here they are…

1. Amber’s Ride by Charles W. Short. This story literally moved me to tears. Intensely personal, I felt as if I were inside the world, drowning along side Amber in her predictable, yet extraordinary sorrow.

2. Mysoulstears by @LurchMunster How do we let someone go when we know they will only find more pain? Sometimes we have to allow those we love to go through their own struggles even though we think we can spare them a bit of suffering. A beautifully written piece describing that release and the birth of a search to move forward alone.

3. Home In L.A. By CatMoonsong A child’s life torn by tragedy finds out that the “Heart” in “Heartland” is where you feel most at home. No matter what the past tried to destroy, you always have the chance to start over and rebuild yourself.

HONORABLE MENTION My City by @MissBliss Great story made more personal to me because of the detailed and descriptive references to spots in L.A. that I dearly miss. You had me at the coyote running down Hollywood Blvd. At 3AM!

Congratulations to everyone who entered! Fabulous stuff. You all made it very difficult to pick three.

A hearty mazel tov to all of our winners.

Charles, here’s the Winner’s Badge;

Image

Thanks to all of our writers, readers, & to Judge Alex too.

See you on Tuesday!

Posted on September 22, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great picks for the winning stories! Congrats to Charles for nailing it this week!!!

    Like

  2. Congrats to the winners! Awesome entries!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

