Tuesday Tales – Ataraxia

This was written for Tuesday Tales, hosted by Stevie McCoy

The word ‘ataraxia’ means:

1: a state of tranquility free from anxiety and emotional disturbance
from Greek: serenity, from ataraktos undisturbed

Ataraxia

There was a sign on the door, a hand-painted sign that read, “Ataraxia”.

An ordinary door at the end of an ordinary hallway in an ordinary building.

I looked at the man who brought me to this door.

“I go through I can never come back, right?”

“Why would you want to? You know what life is… out here.”

“And in there?”

He sighed. “You came to me. Asked for this. Begged for it.”

I opened the door.

Sunlight warmed my face. Women danced in the distance.

My cares fell away.

I was home.

Posted on September 5, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. If only it were that simple to just let go. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

