Five Sentence Fiction – Distance

Life Sentence

I knew what she was going to say even before she sat down on the other side of the table and picked up the receiver.

“It’s all right, Janey,” I said, looking at her through the scratched-up glass, “I won’t make you say it out loud.”

I saw her shudder and then she thanked me and pressed her palm against the glass.

“I don’t blame you,” I said, “ninety-nine to life is a long, long time.”

When she was gone I put my hand up to the glass where hers had been and held it there until the guard came to take me back to my cell.

Posted on August 13, 2012, in Five Sentence Fiction. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. for some reason, him saying “I won’t make you say it out loud” really hit me. A very real and poignant moment, one that holds power. The end of a relationship. Enjoyed reading this story, Jeff.

    Like

  2. Very good, simply but beautifully written. Well done.

    Like

  3. Very powerful piece! well done!

    Like

  4. Gosh, this is powerful…the emotion hits hard, very well written, Jeff

    Like

  5. Incredibly heartbreaking! Really enjoyed it 🙂

    Like

  6. Such power in the seemingly simple structure of these sentences. Really well done!!!

    Like

  7. Nice! Short, sweet and to the point. I’ll be back for more!
    Cheers,
    W.

    Like

Leave a Reply

