Five Sentence Fiction – Composure

This was written for Lillie McFerrin’s weekly Five Sentence Fiction flash fiction event.  Writers are tasked with creating a five sentence story inspired by a single-word theme.  The theme for this piece was, “Composure”.

Composure

“No matter what happens in there,” the prosecuting attorney said without looking me in the eye, “you have to maintain your composure.”

And so I did, even as the jury foreman read the words, “Not guilty,” and set the man who murdered my little girl free.

That man winked at me and grinned as his lawyer patted him on the shoulder and led him out of the courthouse.

The prosecutor wanted to say something to me and she may well have done so but I wasn’t there to hear it because I was busy moving my axe from the trunk of my car to the passenger seat.

A man’s home address is, after all, a matter of public record.

Posted on July 18, 2012, in Five Sentence Fiction. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I can imagine nothing more maddening! This made me so angry!!! Well done 🙂 Then ending fits the tragedy.

    Like

  2. Very, very well done. 🙂

    Like

  3. Cold determination, a grim post, beautifully ended 🙂

    Like

  4. It’s the wink…that knowing wink that would boil my blood… great piece.

    Like

  5. A strong, powerful piece perfectly in keeping with the prompt.

    Like

  6. An axe? Yipe. Great post, Jeff. Love the final line, especially.

    Like

Leave a Reply

